Aimee Mann Announces New Album Queens of the Summer time Hotel

Penni Schewe

Indie folks-and-piano icon Aimee Mann has just declared a new album. It is known as Queens of the Summer time Resort and it is owing out November 5th through Mann’s possess label SuperEgo. Evidently it came about right after Mann started off acquiring audio for a stage adaptation of Woman, Interrupted in 2018. To preview the record, she’s sharing the album’s lead single, “Suicide Is Murder,” along with a new music video clip below.

According to a press release, Queens of the Summer season is composed of “a track cycle produced from songs that Mann wrote for the show.” It is sung by Mann and orchestrated with her longtime collaborator Paul Bryan. As a nod to the project’s theatrical origins, the album functions strings and woodwinds in addition to Mann’s typical design and style of piano playing. It spans 15 music in overall and serves as the follow-up to Mental Health issues, just one of the very best albums of 2017.

“Suicide Is Murder” appears like particularly what you would count on when picturing Mann scoring a musical. It opens with moody piano chords though she sings about waking up in the snow in close proximity to-frozen, and seeking at your wrists recognizing that you skipped far too a lot of veins to bleed out to loss of life. “Suicide is murder/ You’ve acquired to have method of means/ An option,” she sings in the refrain. Driving her, a lone upright bass enters the body alongside sweeping violins. It’s dark, clearly, but fairly stunning.

In the song’s accompanying video, actor James Urbaniak can be witnessed going through his belongings and packing a suitcase. He then flips by way of a diary, jots down a few names stated there, and receives on the mobile phone to make a annoying contact. In the closing photographs, issues just take a change for his character. Spliced all through are pictures of Mann undertaking the tune on piano.

Pre-orders for Queens of the Summer Hotel are at this time ongoing over at Mann’s internet site, which include a vinyl pressing. Check out the album artwork and comprehensive tracklist for it soon after the jump.

Queens of the Summer season Hotel Artwork:

Queens of the Summer season Lodge Tracklist:
01. You Tumble
02. Robert Lowell and Sylvia Plath
03. Give Me Fifteen
04. At the Frick Museum
05. Residence by Now
06. Checks
07. Little Chameleon
08. You Never Have the Area
09. Suicide Is Murder
10. You Could Have Been a Roosevelt
11. Burn It Out
12. In Mexico
13. Verify (Reprise)
14. You are Dropped
15. I See You

Next Post

How to get home if I test positive for Covid while traveling?

When Ken McElroy decided to go to Belize after a business trip to Miami last June, he wasn’t worried about contracting Covid-19, he said. The real estate investment company CEO was flying privately to both places — plus, he’s vaccinated. “I was like, there’s no way I’ll get it,” he […]